, attached to 2021-10-17

Review by RubyWaves

RubyWaves Bay Area got 4 5-star shows in 1 year, eh. That's something not even New York has done, and they get a shot at it almost every damn year. First things first. Jon Fishman played his goddamn ass off the whole show. Especially set 1, where songs like My Soul got all sorts of energy. Maze, Steam, and Reba are the big highlights from set 1. Maze rivals Alpharetta 's version (what a great year for Maze), Steam is GOAT contender (probably still give it to 12/30/17, thought) and the Reba was out of this world. 8/6/21 was Summer's double creature feature, and now 10/17/21 is Fall's double creature feature. Two ginormous jams that explore every style under the sun. The Wolfman's encore kicked unholy amounts of ass as well. What a band. If they top this later this year, then they probably turned into something not human during the pandemic.
, attached to 2021-10-15

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam Tour opener with little rust, and a loose, unpredictable feel in the setlist. Unfortunately, it never really materializes into anything worth obsessing over. I think the highlights were Corinna, Mercury, Sand. You can probably skip through alot of the rest. We should expect tour openers to be not as amazing, and rightfully so. 3 stars
, attached to 2021-10-17

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam Couch toured this one, loved the Bug opener honestly, its such a great song. Rest of the first set was tight, probably best first set of the 3 shows so far - shoutout to that Steam. Second set on Paper, looks pretty suspect. Evolve was fine, but things get taken up a notch in this Set Your Soul Free, which has a sick, darker jam going on. Sets an interesting mood, it was at least 25 mins long, maybe a contender for best version ever, a must listen for all of you. After that sweet jam, we get wingsuit and yes, people hate this one often, and it was not placed well. Put a bit of a damper on the set, but was still played pretty flawlessly, so if you're a wingsuit fan I bet you were having a good time. Then we get the set wrapped up with a monstrous chalk dust and just like that, only 4 songs but I think I was satisfied. Encore a lawn boy, who could complain about that? And a pretty trippy wolfmans to send us home. Slightly above average show here tonight, check out Steam, SYSF, Chalkdust, Wolfman's! Also RIP to the person who died tonight at the show during Destiny. Tough scene im sure for all involved. We will get by.
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by Uncle_Ebeneeezr

Uncle_Ebeneeezr Total banger of a show. I was there on the floor at Chase. This was a special show. First set started with one great tune after another. Possum opener set the tone, and really those first six songs up until Shade had the crowd fired up. Slave mid-first set (!), and incredible peaking energy throughout. Great Antelope to close the set. Second set continued the magic, and then on top of all that, a wild jammy 19-minute Carini as an encore??? Def give this one a listen. Thank you, Phish!
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by thewiz

thewiz Truly incredible that they’re playing at this level two shows into the tour. I kept thinking that I was hearing teases during improvised sections because the jamming was so good and sounded composed. Too many highlights to even note (loved the jammed Frankie Says, one of the most underrated and unappreciated of their songs). The Carini blew the roof off the place and the playing was tight and fast all around. When do they ever even do that in an encore? Very different energy than Sacramento, even though SF was a bigger venue, felt more intimate because it was crowded. The house seemed packed but I couldn’t even give away a mail order floor outside the venue, there were tickets all over the e-scooters littering the sidewalk. Super well run venue with no lines anywhere for anything. Can’t wait for tonight.
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by Phishtopia

Phishtopia Magnificent playing in an incredible show. Winterqueen has hints of Beneath the Sea of Stars and Ocelot woven into it. Frankie Says is a nice bust out with a superb jam to follow. Stay and listen all the way to the end where the Carini-Mothership enters the atmosphere bathing everyone in its warm light only to rocket into the heavens and the cosmos.
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by RubyWaves

RubyWaves WOW. Just, WOW. Instant classic, without a doubt. Probably my show of the year. 46 Days -> Slave makes you feel like you're on a cloud. Simple and Frankie Says (first Type 2 in 18 years!) are an unimaginable dance party. Type 1 highlights abound with Possum, Antelope, and Moma. But without a doubt, the highlight of the show is that goddamn encore Carini. Absolutely trumps everything else played in the tour so far, and probably a Top 10 Carini ever. Highlights: honestly, do not skip a SINGLE song in this show. you will not regret it one bit.
, attached to 2021-10-15

Review by yEEt_1331

yEEt_1331 Rather interesting tour opener. It's almost as if the band chose to warm up for tour by choosing the most random songs to put in places nobody'd expected them to be. That pretty much killed any sense of flow this show had but that's not a bad thing, it kept things entertaining and fun. Mercury was excellent, as was the unfinished Tube. Not too bad!
, attached to 2021-10-15

Review by mgolia6

mgolia6 Last minute decision to stream this show knowing the determination it takes to stay on West Coast show time from Alabama. Glad I made the decision. I kept having this sneaking suspicion I was catching a show in reverse. But not quite. The elements of the first set stayed somewhat the same while the song selection was certainly not all first set material. The theory kinda fizzles in set two and what it lacked in my neatly wrapped theory it more than made up for in exploration and heat. And so to bed was the theme of set two for this humble narrator. Weaving in and out of sleep and landing neatly in improvisational sections, this set truly felt mercurial; owing mostly likely to my Rip van winkling. An unfinished Tube is a clear indicator of this shows prowess. Mahalo, Matthew
, attached to 2021-10-15

Review by Kriddaz

Kriddaz Glad I made the trek from Eugene this morning. A loose, fun show. Just walked out of the venue. Free was rock solid. Piper was pipin’ hot. My first Mercury, loved it. And so to Bed was beautiful and who woulda guessed Brother? Excellent choice with Corrina and I enjoyed the first set Hood. Army of One and Coil gave Page a chance to warm up the vocals. This was my first indoor show since 2019 and it was good to be back!
, attached to 2021-10-15

Review by RubyWaves

RubyWaves If you hated this show I wouldn't argue with you If you loved this show I wouldn't argue with you That's just what Sacramento 2021 is. Absolutely beautiful mess of a show we have here. Highlights are Hood, Mercury, Plasma, Piper, And So To Bed (they played fucking And So To Bed?), Tube -> Brother (but not the segue, jesus christ), and Sand.
, attached to 2021-08-29

Review by InsectEffect

InsectEffect 1st set highlights: How Many People > Gin > Back on the Train, the latter of which is a miniature wind-up jam so tight that it was deemed worthy of official video release. Then My Friend and Rift both bring a uniquely Phishy menace that’s oddly perfect for the middle-of-nowhere Gorge. 2nd set: The jam out of Mr. Completely is textured and fluid but ultimately somewhat meandering, perhaps because the rest of the band does little more that lay a canvas for Trey to paint on. There’s a deft nod to Friday’s Camel Walk before an absolutely butter segue into Meat, which is flame-broiled and full of flavor. Pregnant pause before a similarly-energetic Xeyed that Trey soon tries to take back into Mr. Completely. His bandmates (Fishman) resist, and instead there’s another effortless and surprising segue, this time into a raging Saw It Again. Head’s up to all the “Let Fishman Sing” people out there—this is your set right here. Trey seems to organically discover Mango Song’s lick amidst his trills, and the whole band then patiently transitions. It’s a beautiful call, full of light and levity after the manic dark that precedes. Everything's Right tries to keep this momentum and then flirts with more darkness before giving way to Sea of Stars—a tune, to my ears, whose lyrics are undermined by a strangely slow and somber tone. But out there at The Gorge, with Trey calling for lights out, it offered a really lovely reflective moment. Your mileage may vary on re-listen, though. Then Always Wanted It comes swirling in and… seriously, what is this song? Dad Disco? Fortunately Trey has a riff to work with, and soon steers the tune into an Xeyed-inflected Mr. Completely reprise that very nicely bookends the set and damn-near qualifies for a proper segue. A great encore brings this gorgeous weekend to a close, one that saw an abundance of patient, spacious playing, unique and dynamic sets, and music momentously amplified by the magic of The Gorge’s incredible natural setting.
, attached to 2021-08-28

Review by InsectEffect

InsectEffect Highlights of this strong 1st set include the rockin’ opening trio and a twilight Swept Away > Steep to follow Divided Sky in absolutely perfect-for-The-Gorge fashion. The 2nd set is well-balanced but perhaps doesn’t exceed the sum of its parts. As with Friday’s Set II, there’s a light-and-dark dynamic here, with Mountains in the Mist and Bug providing reflective counterpoints to the up-tempo excursions. Both tunes share some DNA with Lifeboy (perfectly placed on Friday), so there seems to be a continued theme, though I think Friday’s was a much more successful (read: remarkable) set. Saturday’s centerpiece is a nearly 18-minute Scents and Subtle Sounds (complete with intro), which expands to welcome in The Gorge’s spacious landscape. About 10 minutes in, Trey deploys a certain electronic effect that dominates the sonic palette for several minutes, and while I recall enjoying it live, it strikes me an odd choice that doesn’t work so well on re-listen. Still, the jam soars again before a measured slide into Bug. Set-closer Possum rips in fine marsupial style. It was nice to hear rarity Bittersweet Motel, but the encore made for a somewhat odd jumble of tunes. Overall average-great Phish on this fine Saturday night at The Gorge.
, attached to 2021-08-27

Review by InsectEffect

InsectEffect 1st set highlights: Torn and Frayed; a time-warping, get-your-money’s-worth Melt; a tight Tube with Super Bad jam (no mere tease here); and a stand-out Mull proving that this cool new Mike tune has serious jam potential, as Trey clearly discovers with some sick riffing. The entire 2nd set is unique and exceptional. Whatever you think of Sigma Oasis (the jury’s still out for me), the song’s “you’re already there” refrain nicely sets the stage before the band descends into an astonishing What’s the Use? Heavy and cathartic, stirring and serene, this WTU offers a profound release into and return from the void, one that welcomes the very spaciousness and silence of the landscape into the music. You can hear it in the recording, a hushed audience standing awed out there in a little oasis in the wild. What to do after such a deep plunge? We gather ourselves back together and blaze on… Blaze On rips and roils, with Trey recalling his Mull riffing around the 8-minute mark. The song then slows for a silky segue into Lifeboy, which offers another deep, reflective descent into our collective heart center. If this set’s Blaze On is an affirmation, Camel Walk is a celebration. This jammed-out Camel is just fantastic. The song itself is Super Bad-inflected for extra funk, with a clear tease at 5:05, and the jam includes a string of WTU callbacks beginning at 10:50, elevating the set’s deeper themes. A funk-strut Chalk Dust carries the celebratory torch further, with syrupy phrasing and a no-fireworks approach that’s all patient workmanship and clockwork groove. The music then takes a delicate turn before a long smooth segue into Slave. This song has closed a lot of sets, and can sometimes feel perfunctory, but not here. Fresh and vivid, with understated phrasing, this Slave brings the set’s reflective WTU-Lifeboy thread to a powerful resolution. The GOTF songs are a little too on the nose for me, but this Drift encore is well-earned and worked fine live. Overall, just wow. This set functions as a remarkable compositional whole, an extended meditation on the ebb-and-flow, light-and-dark nature of existence. It’s a trip in the very best sense, into the abyss and back again. It’s also (Camel Walk) a lot of fun. Attendance bias? Oh for sure. This show, at The Gorge? Boy, man. God, shit…
, attached to 2021-08-11

Review by SplitOpenAndMalt

SplitOpenAndMalt Night two was a fun one. After recovering from the late-night partying the night prior, me and my buddy hit Hersheypark durinig a scorching hot day that was interrupted by the incoming rain. We met up with a few of our other buddies in the park and took shelter in our car before it started downpouring. When it subsided, it was showtime and the group of the six of us headed into the venue. Definitely did not have a You Sexy Thing opener predicted but it definitely let us know that we were in for a funky night. I can't hear Wombat without thinking about Abe Vigoda coming out on Halloween but it's a perfect balance between a light, fun song and an impressive jam instrument. At about three minutes, a nice jam session led by Trey took off. The vocal fusion between 'Wombat' and 'You Sexy Thing' was absolutely awesome-- if you'd had told me these two songs would lift the crowd's vibes beyond the extent of N1 S2 before the show, I would've thought you were crazy. Free's an awesome tune generally, and about four minutes in, they start to let loose on a funky jam that Mike sounds really defined in. I'm not a big ASIHTOS fan, but Trey takes off in this one too at about 2:30 in-- what a start to a jamming first set! Near the end of the jam I was sure that they were going to go into Sand, but instead, they went into my highlight of Summer Tour's first set, a blazing Halley's Comet. At 4:55 the band lifts off and Trey and Page are obviously locked-in, in sync right now. The jam gets really experimental and departs from the theme after a few more minutes thanks to Fish's control of pace. Lonely Trip gave the band a chance to cool down, but it was definitely nice hearing some stuff from Quarantine Trey. Gotta Jibboo even gave Trey some time to jam out for a little bit as they built up to close the set strong. Meat gave us another callback to You Sexy Thing and this is one of my favorite songs that you can hear all four of their vocals on. Maze is a sweet ass closer as well, and this is a pretty traditional one to close out one of the most jammed out first sets I've seen. Trey gives us one last 'You Sexy.... Thing!' before heading back for break. Set two we got up to maybe five rows back, right at center stage. The sun set and the guys come back with Theme. I thought that they were going to absolutely bust it open after Trey started scaling succeeding the vocal section, but they wrap it up pretty nicely to give us a concise warmup jam. The BOAF, though, is a whole different story. They essentially immediately jump into heavy riffing before fully departing the atmosphere-- I saw the '19 BOAF at Blossom and, while less deep and spacey, this was a substantially more chronological jam that continued to build on the feel of the band. Each of the four members had no trouble feeding off of eachother and nobody hesitated to give another member lead for a few minutes-- the 4.0 guitar sounds great in this one. On Instagram before N1, Mike showed a picture of a butterfly on his mic, and me and my buddy guessed that Bug was gonna make its appearance in Hershey-- here it is. Page has just generally sounded really good tonight, kind of a mystical feel to the keys. To build off this lightheartedness, the band segues into Light. The vocal section leads into a contemporary, alternative, smooth jam for about five minutes that almost fully engulfs Party Time and its succeeding jam as well. Ruby Waves is the other monster jam in this set, getting right into it and getting much darker than this set's complementing jams. This jam is high-paced and definitely worth a listen (definitely not an Alpine Ruby Waves but a solid version nonetheless). Chalk Dust was used as the culminating point of the set to burn off the remaining energy prior to encore. Show of Life into SANTOS couldn't be any more opposite end of the spectrum, but, at the end of SANTOS, everyone was high-fiving eachother and the energy in the place was palpable. What a fun show-- everyone was on (CK5's rig looked absolutely unbelievable) and this was easily the better night of the two. Probably a 4/5 given the tour's relative performance, definitely earning some replays in my book.
, attached to 1988-08-03

Review by thelot

thelot Unfortunately there’s very little from this show to review. I would imagine the band was psyched to expose their sound to a packed house, apparently the only show that had a decent turnout during their time in Colorado. The true highlight from what circulates is this Mike’s Song! Great early version here. Somewhat strange they decided not to include Weekapaug. This would make for nice archival release someday!
, attached to 2021-08-10

Review by SplitOpenAndMalt

SplitOpenAndMalt Made the venture out to Hershey after the three night run at Deer Creek and cannot say I was disappointed. The venue was open and spacious, it was super accessible to party anywhere on the floor or in the stands. After a torrential downpour, the double rainbow above the Pennsylvania sky set the stage for an awesome night of music. My group settled maybe forty yards back from the stage and had quite a bit of space to ourselves, even that up close. They came out with a heater of an opener with First Tube-- definitely my favorite opener that I've heard so far, the perfect fusion between a jammed-out fan favorite and an aggressive, up-tempo tune to set the stage for the night. Following it up with Axilla just felt natural (after a few nights of calmer and more joyous first sets, the guys are coming out hot!) and it was evident that the remainder of the set was going to follow the same tone. They dive into their first major jam segment of the night with a nice Type I Fuego-- this song has definitely grown on me and listening to Fish set the stage for Trey and Page to feed off of each other's culminating energy in this version in particular has led me back through the vault of Fuego's past. The succeeding Jim started an abbreviated jam portion around four minutes into the song, and Mike really guides this jam-- this one had the chance to go deep for a little bit before Trey ripcords the main chords to the tune for an awesome peak at 7:45 in. Gumbo is a favorite of mine, too (thanks A Live One!), and it was awesome hearing Trey try and vocode it a scale higher than normal. Sample served as the set's halfway point before breaking out into a traditional version of Steam, which felt especially right given the post-rain humidity in the stadium. Sugar Shack was the first tune I didn't recognize (obviously need to study up on my Baker's Dozen) but I was glad to hear them play an ode to the town of Hershey. Then, wow, what a FAST Llama-- definitely immediately brought a lot of energy back to the field. The progression from that to DDHVL kept the energy immediately high and this is where Page really goes to work. What can I say, I'm a sucker for the synth. And the Antelope closer was absolutely perfect to round out the set-- maybe one of my preferred first sets of the tour. Set break ended and the opener of NMINML got really spacey within the first five minutes-- this is a multi-element jam that kind of slid under the table and Trey's new rig sounds really nice here. The jam got slightly dark before ending and beginning Soul Planet. I'm not a big Soul Planet guy, but it was nice to hear an up-tempo and fun jam this set as well. I would've preferred to hear NICU in the first set but the song was definitely on par with the feel of the beginning of the set. In a complete change of pace, the band slows down with Joy before jumping into one of the highlights of this second set, Scent of A Mule. As always, the build-up from the silence right before the vocals kick back in was awesome to hear. Golden Age served as a 'regroup' song and Page sounded really good during the last few minutes. Prince Caspian and BDTNL both returned to the 'Joy' feel, giving the set, in totality, a really emotional feel. The Lizards was, without a doubt, the highlight of my show. It was my first time seeing this one played live, and, while I was always fond of Trey's solo at the end, I didn't realize how you could literally hear a pin drop in the venue. It was a surreal experience. Character Zero emphatically rounded out a set that was kinda all over the place. Before the show, my buddy called a Rock and Roll encore-- it was awesome when they actually busted it out! Page gave us a fun way to close out N1. The show was a little all over the place at times, but, individually, most of the songs were played pretty nicely. Probably a 3.5/5.
, attached to 1988-07-30

Review by thelot

thelot This is a very special night in Phishtory! The band certainly makes lemonade out of lemons the first half of the evening. While Trey is no Fishman he was a fine substitute. The banter throughout this show is absolutely priceless! Really the only negative thing that can be said about this recording is the handful of cuts throughout, most notably in Antelope. Luckily Colorado ‘88 shares some of the missing pieces. It makes me wonder what other treasures are in the archive from this run….Is 7/28 available or was that show not recorded at all? Thank goodness these shows were captured for all to enjoy for years to come! Side Note: Mike teases Moby Dick after All Blues
, attached to 1988-07-29

Review by thelot

thelot What a treat to have these crispy boards shared with the community after all these years! It’s amazing that almost every note was captured from their Colorado trip! It should be noted that during “TMWSIY” portion of the show Trey mentions that they played Wilson earlier that evening. It’s kind of surprising they didn’t perform Gamehendge during their time in Colorado, but I guess it’s no more surprising that they held off on performing the musical in it’s entirety until 1994…but I digress. YEM cuts in during the buildup to the “ Wash Uffizi” section. From what Trey says during set 2 it sounds like there may’ve been more to set 1 than what circulates. The show overall is pretty straightforward for 1988. Great banter throughout which in itself makes this show special. What a treat it must’ve been to see them back then let alone seeing them in a place as beautiful as Telluride! Highlights include YEM, Curtain With, Jesus Left, “A” Train and Bold as Love. It should also be noted that during I Didn’t Know Mike substitutes “picture of Otis” for “picture of Warren” referring to the now infamous, Warren Stickney.
, attached to 2021-10-03

Review by bkrieg73

bkrieg73 I love TAB and have listened to lots and lots of it, but this was my first live show. This is also my first review, I apologize in advance for all of the things I do poorly :) Here is what I thought: Great energy, Trey was happy, got the show rolling with a somewhat funky and relaxed BOTT, great enjoyable song, which turned into MOMA, which was captivating and amazing. Very much Phish-like. Dezron was fire the whole night, this song no exception. Fun to have Fishman singing, but his drumming is . . . you know. After MOMA came my least favorite part of this show: Undermine and Ocelot. Undermine was just okay, but Ocelot just didn't work for me. Trey kept unsuccessfully trying to find the right sound using pedals and he never found it. I found myself wishing Ocelot would end. But that is the price we pay for the times when it works out amazingly well. Like the next two song which were so great. Set you soul was fired up, energized the crowd, but damn that Dark and Down was a major highlight of this show. I felt every ounce of Trey's emotion in that rendition. Second set opened with a spectacular Sand which was then outdone by the ER after. This is the second time we get a jammed out ER in the past week and they are both all timers for me. The tone in Trey's guitar, his pedal work, ahhh, can't wait to hear that again. Lonely Trip and Never Left home, very good newer songs, then another smashing Carini made this show a huge success. One of my very fave songs by TAB is First Tube and I was stoked to see it, but it hadn't come. Otherwise I may have left at the beginning of the encore since I had to work the next day and wife and I were both wiped out. But I held on to try to hear First Tube. First Tube never came, but what a treat on the third song of the encore: Evolve, which is my favorite new Trey song played, but with a surprise guest - James Casey! Oh man, that was amazing. So much energy. What a great song. The last three of the encore were made just MAGICAL by throwing Casey out there, who definitely had bottled up energy that he let fly for the three songs he played. 11 total songs in the first two sets, this was a lot like a Phish show. What a treat to get Fishman with TAB, I hope it happens again someday.
, attached to 2021-10-02

Review by Col_Radicones_Ascent

Col_Radicones_Ascent So I am going to be honest, last night was absolutely thrilling. This incarnation with TAB was born out of necessity sadly but there has been a silver lining. Now I love a good light hearted dance party that modern TAB had brought us year after year. The horns the back up singers and a relentless beat, it's pure unadulterated fun, but what I witnessed last night was an entirely different beast. Last night had more of a supergroup feel to it. Dezron is again a new addition made out of a sad necessity but holy smokes can he play. Watching him look at Trey and Fish with a monster smile on his face just enjoying the moment was awesome. Now having both Fish and Trey playing completely unencumbered by the expectation of Phish or the constraints of Ghost of the Forrest was also another treat, just two veterans and best friends playing for the sake of playing. Cyro added such a fun psychedelic party atmosphere while the milk man brought the dance party. Some have said it we're basically being treated to a Phish cover band with 1/2 the members. IMO 2021 Phish has felt like 2.0 and up to 05 just crammed into 1 year and we're not even done yet. There's been a massive amount of experimentation. But back to the music, this TAB is just a psychedelic dance party with driving rhythms that covers a ton of ground. Because of the lineup change Trey had to pare down the song list so we're getting alot of repeats (and primarily Phish tunes) but boy are they taking chances by getting extremely comfortable with the material. I actually would be interested in Phish taking this approach for a tour and just taking a handful of a great songs and giving them the business, I don't need 300 unique songs in a tour. Go ahead and check out this show. I've done a terrible job describing it but it's excellent. Think late 90's trance/dance Phish with 4.0 tones and ton's of groove and textures on some of your favorite Phish songs.
, attached to 2021-10-01

Review by CForbin

CForbin I say it often - "We are SO lucky!" - and last night was an example. Type 2, Oye Como Va teases (yes, multiple), brilliant percussion work... it was Phish Lite, glowsticks and all. The jam at the end of Carini is an example of quality over quantity, song is just over 10 minutes but the peak jam of 2 minutes or so at the climax was an absolute standout moment in a night full of them. I tweeted once that Everything's Right is an absolute anthem - so The Anthem version clocking in just under 30 minutes with some outstanding type 2 and composed jam sections confirms that Trey reads my tweets. LOLOLOL jk jk jk I missed the horns, the vocals, and Rus for sure - but what a treat to have Fish and Cyro together. At one point Cyro was roaming the stage banging on everything from the amp case to Ray's keyboard. He played a bow and arrow for crying out loud!! Dude is a champion. Last comment. Dezron - wow. just wow. Na na na na, na na na na yeah... yeah yeah yeah, it's gonna be alright!
, attached to 2021-10-01

Review by StillWaitingforSuzy

StillWaitingforSuzy To say last night was awesome would be an understatement. Long amazing jams from the get go. Seemed like Sand, Moma Dance, and Set Your Soul Free lasted an hour combined of pretty much non stop shredding. SYSF though made me miss the backing vocals of the ladies. Trey and Fish took turns in the driver's seat, each pushing the jams longer. While beautiful, Quantegy seemed to leave it's potential behind a little, which makes sense without the horns. About to Run grew legs and did just so. Carini to close the set was an awesome surprise and made me really happy that Fishman joined the tour. Set 2 opened with a 25 minute Everything's Right that really turned up the heat. My highlight of the night was watching Ciro on Death Don't Hurt, as he probably used at least 10 different instruments to make some amazing eerie and haunting sounds. No Men was another stellar jam that just kept going. Blaze caught fire to end a jaw dropping set. Wolfman's Brother blazed into the encore and Life Beyond the Dream showed got much Trey valued the opportunity to be playing in front of a live audience. Great show, beautiful music.
, attached to 2021-10-01

Review by Offshoredrilling

Offshoredrilling To say that this show was a special night in the Trey/Phish universe is not enough. Something magical happened at the Anthem last night. I have to go back and listen to this again because I cannot heap too much praise on this show without another listen. Everyone there last night saw one of the best Trey/Phish experiences ever. The setlist and playing was so perfect. Everything was so perfect. Trey Anastasio is a force of nature. The Anthem may be the best new venue in the country. And last night was magic.
, attached to 2021-10-01

Review by radiator9987

radiator9987 We were a vat of electric kool-aide away from getting naked and forming a pyramid on the floor. Best Trey in any form I have seen in 20+ years, brilliant playing, brilliant set list choices and next level energy. Fishman has stepped in and stepped up with the rest of the band taking their cues from him as much as Trey.
, attached to 2021-09-29

Review by Pinhead_Larry

Pinhead_Larry Going to see TAB in Pittsburgh was an easy decision. I only live 2.5 hours away, and I love visiting the Burgh. The fact I was seeing TAB made it even more exciting because this was my first show and listening to Trey have one of the best summers of his life made the anticipation even greater! However, the trip was rife with set backs and bad omens from the start. Me and my girlfriend set out for Pittsburgh on Tuesday after opting out of TAB in Columbus and arrived in the city with enough time for some exploring and dinner. We went to this nice restaurant somewhere south side (can’t recall but it was off of E. Carson st.). And finished up around 10 pm when I nonchalantly asked if she remembered her vaccine card, to which she gets a very serious look in her eyes almost as if to scream it had been left back in Cleveland. Well, that was a bummer, but I checked some clinic websites to see about getting a test done and almost every single site said they required a referral from a GP first. So, after much deliberation we said “fuck it.” At 10 pm, we headed back to Cleveland to pick it up. We got into town around 12:30 am when I opened up Twitter and saw a tweet from Trey about the show that had taken place just an hour before and how it was Trey solo acoustic after Russ tested positive for Covid. After the news, paired with Jennifer’s recent positive test, this whole trip was starting to feel very cursed, but Trey was still going on, so I figured I’d go on with him. I mean, where can Trey find a drummer to fill in last minute? Oh well, it’ll still be a fun show and I love Trey banter. We crashed in Cleveland and set out for PITT in the next morning. Cue Jon Fishman; the one and only musician for which Phish gets its namesake. I imagine Jon as The Wolf from Pulp Fiction. Fish: “You have a missing drummer and you need someone to fill in starting at Pittsburgh? That’s 8 hours away. I’ll be there in 5” (idk where Fish is coming from lol). Reading the news that 1/2 the members of Phish would be performing made me even more excited for TAB. Even though it started rocky, everything worked out in the end. Now for the show: holy shit (but said like “HOLYYYYY SHIIIIIITTTTTT”). That’s the review. I literally can’t even put into words what happened last night. The best analogy I have is that TAB in Pittsburgh tonight felt like what I imagine Jam Night to be like. Even better that we got good spots near the rail where we could see Trey clearly in good spirits and having the time of his life. He was very chatty with some people directly in front of him who helped him with lyrics to Ocelot and Jibboo. I don’t know why, but seeing Trey interact with them made me so happy! They were all living their best lives. Trey pointed at one and said “thank you” after they sang the verse he messed up. All in good fun, and of course the music kept going all night. So yeah, I’m still feeling that after glow hard after TAB. What made the whole experience even better was the fact the venue was so small and intimate. This was my after party from Phish tour. This is exactly what I felt like after Deer Creek N1. After everything that happened in 2020, this year is cracking up to be one for the books and witnessing it has been beyond special. This year, the blinders are off yet they’re still innately focused and they’re building to something special this fall. I don’t know what, but I know it will be great. Thank you TAB! Thank you Jon Fishman! Happy birthday Trey! Much love from Ohio. Thank you for an amazing first TAB show; I’ll definitely be back.
, attached to 2021-09-25

Review by colonelforbin44

colonelforbin44 I was really disappointed when I found out the entire horns section would miss the show due to COVID protocols. However, I knew Trey would pick up the slack and he delivered 1000x. The first set was good and jam filled, but it felt like the new bass player was hanging back. Second set felt like early 90s Trey stepped through a time machine and onto the stage. At the same time they switched Dezron's learners permit out for a full license to jam and gave him the keys to the car. It was unbelievable! I haven't heard Trey play like that live ever (through 20-40 shows). He shredded, no holds barred, so did Dezron. The mini acoustic set was a nice touch and then that Sand... jesus! Once again, Trey taught us how to turn lemons into lemonade and I'm happy I was there to see it!
, attached to 1988-07-25

Review by thelot

thelot What circulates for this show sounds as good as what appears on Junta. It’s a shame there isn’t more available as the band seemed in good spirits on this night. Mike carried his silliness over from the previous night. I would imagine they were excited for their upcoming trip to Colorado. Skin it Back features a nice little jam. Paul Languedoc was substituted for Jimmy during the narration…Fun version! BBFCFM was also a hoot! Fish’s bone solo in Sanity cracks me up every time! It should be noted that Page and then Trey sing a little bit of John Denver’s “Rocky Mountain High” before Icculus after a fan screams for it in the audience. For the encore Trey asks “Do you want to hear a stupid song? We know plenty of those” lol. Camel Walk starts off with Mike saying “A chance to display your choreographic talent” lol. A silly night is a good night! Let’s hope this entire performance sees the light of day at some point!
, attached to 2021-09-25

Review by Phluffhead1988

Phluffhead1988 TAB in Charlotte tonight was insane. Despite the lack of Jenn, Natalie, and James, tonight truly felt like an Phish show. 5 song first set, 6 song second set, and a 5 song encore that started off with 4 solo acoustic songs. Trey Anastasio is truly one special human being that continues to exceed all of our expections time after time. Download this show! Also, I took my dad tonight for his 2nd TAB show. He truthfully called the Sand closer though, which made for a special night for us!
, attached to 2021-08-31

Review by heathen

heathen Set 1: Trey was really out to lunch during Forbin! He got a little bit better in Mockingbird, but was still a ways off much of the time. He got back on track in Wolfman's, which is an enjoyable version though not necessarily an all-time great version. Stash was pretty good, with moments of delightful weirdness. Weigh was fun, and fun is all it ever needs to be. They probably could've stretched out Gotta Jibboo if they had time but they obviously didn't, and it didn't seem to be headed to any new territory so I don't mind the short version. Moonage Daydream was a bit rough around the edges. It's a bold choice of covers. Altogether the first set was okay. It got off to a rocky start, but they definitely redeemed themselves with the Stash at least. Set 2/e: Soul Planet itself is a bad song IMO. Musically boring, and the lyrics are just one cliche after another. With that out of the way, let's talk about the jam. Luckily, the song itself was out of the way by the 5 minute mark. They jump with both feet into the jam, and I really like the reverse delay or whatever it is that Trey (I think) loops at the very beginning of the jam. Fish does some really interesting rhythmic stuff as they step off the cliff and unequivocally enter Type II territory (in the neighborhood of the 8:30 mark). Trey seems to be committed to plunging into the abyss in this jam, rather than pulling the ripcord and getting on to the next Dad Rock song. As I type that, though, he tries to bring them back to Soul Planet at about the 21-ish minute mark. Dude can be a pain. Then he starts noodling towards a predictable 3.0 crescendo. If I was hearing this live, without the benefit of knowing it goes for another 20+ minutes, I'd think this jam is nearing conclusion. At about 25 minutes in Trey once again brings them back to Soul Planet, which is a shame because for a while there earlier they had some interesting stuff happening. Just when they're threatening to go into the boring "cow funk" (ugh) things get spacey again. After some more interesting stuff, things stagnate a bit and then they go into The Final Hurrah which is a lame song. Theme From the Bottom is a great song. Why can't Theme get the 40+ minute jam treatment? Axilla was notable as not having been played in a while, but the actual performance wasn't anything to write home about. Tela is a great song, and this is a pretty average version (but an average Tela is better than a lot of other songs in the current rotation). Trey flubbed the ending of Tela, for those keeping score. When, oh when, will people stop with the "Hood" response? Probably never, unfortunately. Harry Hood was sloppy at times and ultimately unremarkable. Not much to say about Fee and Wilson. I need to listen to the Soul Planet jam at least one more time to fully form an opinion about it. As of now I can say there were some great parts, and some meh parts. How it rates as a whole is a question I don't want to rush to answer. Stash was good, and there were some decent versions of other songs. This show is going to live and die by that Soul Planet jam though, because there wasn't really anything else in the show that's memorable. A lot of the songs were just average, and some were below average.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2021  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode